National Capital Chapter 70 - Ottawa, Canada

QCWA History

Home Up Alphabetical Index


Home Up


Late in the year 1947, a group of radio amateurs got together in mid-town New York City to discuss the establishment of an organization dedicated to fostering and developing friendship and co-operation among amateur radio operators of more than twenty-five years standing, making use of the reservoir of knowledge and experience represented within the membership for the benefit of all radio amateurs, and for the furtherance of the public welfare through amateur radio communication. Under the name "Quarter Century Wireless Amateur Club", the new organization, at its meeting on December 5, 1947, elected John DiBlasi, W2FX, as its president, John A. Stobbe, W2WZ, as vice-president, Leon A. Hanson, W2FIT, secretary, and David Talley, W2PF, treasurer. Some thirty-four members were present at the organizational meeting and they, together with another twenty area amateurs who joined before December 31, 1947, were designated charter members of the fledgling club.

In 1949, the club was established as a non-profit membership corporation of the State of New York, -- Quarter Century Wireless Association,, Inc. -- and began attracting interest, first on a national scale, and then internationally. The familiar logo of a bearded, pipe-smoking Old Timer working a key was adapted by Otto Eppers, W2EA, from a cartoon in QST. As membership grew, chapters were established beginning in 1951, and a quarterly bulletin, QCWA News, began circulation to carry news of Association activities to members. In 1950, annual QCWA QSO parties were inaugurated.

By the end of 1973, active membership in QCWA exceeded 6,000 and 68 chapters had been chartered, including one in Sydney , Australia, the first to be chartered outside the United States of America. As of June 30th, 1997 there were 196 Chapters world-wide that had joined the organization.

Membership certificates are serial numbered, and the current new members are receiving numbers over 33,000.

QCWA, Inc Presidents

1947 - 1964  John DiBlasi W2FX
1965 - 1968  Earl Thomas W2MM
1969 - 1971  Clarence Seid W2KW
1972 - 1973  Barry Goldwater K7UGA
1974 - 1977  Frank Gunther W2ALS
1978 - 1981  Harry Gartsman W6ATC
1982 - 1985  Stuart Meyer W2GHK
1986 - 1989  Leland Smith W5KL
1989 - 1994  Harry Dannals W2HD
1994 - 1996 Lew McCoy  W1ICP
1996 - 1998  John Kelleher  W4ZC
1998 - 2002  Gary Harrison K0BC
2002 - 2004  Croft Taylor VE3CT
2005 - 2008  John Johnston W3BE
2009 - 2012  Bob Roske N0UF
2013 - now    Ken Oelke VE6AFO

For more information on QCWA click here



Last modified: September 18, 2014